Road Trip Wednesday #168: What Do You Love About Writing?

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway‘s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

So, what do I love about writing? To be honest, this is difficult for me, because I love every gritty detail about writing. In this post, though, I’ll focus on character creation. I talk to myself a lot, create scenarios in my head that are not unlike short stories, and often when I act out these situations, I’m playing a character that I have created on the spot. Sometimes I’m a woman in the 1800’s, discussing my distaste for my upcoming nuptials and the husband that will come with it. Alternatively, sometimes I am part of an uncivilized tribe that communicates with primitive grunts. This all comes naturally, and it allows me to create unique, well-rounded, unpredictable characters. And I absolutely love doing this.

Writing is an art, and each character is like my own Mona Lisa—many of them are just as miserable as her, too. Mine to craft from hand, creating a whole person, a whole family, from absolutely nothing. It’s a little like playing God, and I love each of my little paper-people as if they were my own children (in my own head, I sometimes even refer to them as such).

Feel free to post your own responses to this week’s question in the comments!

Leave a Reply

